Everything isn’t always what it seems..

Standard

Happy Tuesday everyone! I missed you all last week, gosh a week ago I was having a crazy crappy Tuesday.  But I am back!  So I was scrolling through Pinterest today avoiding doing things that would actually be productive.  When I came across a picture that said “did you know? There is a depressing/pessimistic poem which if read backwards becomes optimistic.  (Read Below)

Lost Generation

I am part of a lost generation
and I refuse to believe that
I can change the world
I realize this may be a shock but
“Happiness comes from within.”
is a lie, and
“Money will make me happy.”
So in 30 years I will tell my children
they are not the most important thing in my life
My employer will know that
I have my priorities straight because
work
is more important than
family
I tell you this
Once upon a time
Families stayed together
but this will not be true in my era
This is a quick fix society
Experts tell me
30 years from now, I will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of my divorce
I do not concede that
I will live in a country of my own making
In the future
Environmental destruction will be the norm
No longer can it be said that
My peers and I care about this earth
It will be evident that
My generation is apathetic and lethargic
It is foolish to presume that
There is hope.

And all of this will come true unless we choose to reverse it .

Once you read the poem all the way through the way it was written read it in reverse..  Take it one line at a time and see how it all changes.  Or you can watch this video: http://youtu.be/42E2fAWM6rA

Either way you choose to get the message don’t just stop after you get half the message. 

I think the idea for the poem goes for a lot of other things, say this poem was written the optimistic way and backwards it was depressing? Do you think that would change anything.  To me it changes how I relate the poem to other things. What do I mean by that? If this poem was Optimistic when you first read it and pessimistic when you reversed it, I would tell you never to judge something by the way it appears.  When I think of how this poem could have been written I think about a kid sitting in a class that appears happy as can be but what you don’t know is that at home his life is anything but happy.  Or today at lunch one of the bigger kids pushed him into a locker and made fun of his shirt, saying it was too “gay” for him to wear.

How about that beautiful girl you just passed in the hall way that smiled at you?  Her step father tells her that she is fat and has too much sugar.  What he doesn’t seem to care about is that she has a medical disorder that makes it next to impossible for her to lose weight but she still hasn’t had any pop or candy and has been eating healthy for the past 6 months.  

I know that I am reading a lot into just one poem, and that I don’t think this is what Jonathan Reed had in mind while writing this poem.  But didn’t someone say that art is up to the viewer to add value to, and that the artist leaves it open so that can happen? 

Well this is my value to Jonathan Reed’s art.  And maybe I am reading too much into this, and maybe it’s just because I have had a lot on my mind today but I know people that have been bullied and yet they seem so happy.  One of the greatest people in my life was bullied, he wrote a paper on it once and I cried when I read it.  I cried mostly because of how amazing it was. I also cried because I knew exactly what he was talking about, I was there in a very crucial part in his life and I think I ended up hurting him more at the time than helping him and I will never be able to change those choices I made, but I am going to try and spend the rest of my life proving to him how much I wish I could change that.  I guess the moral of this story/post is just because someone seems happy on the outside doesn’t always mean they are happy.  Any time you walk past someone make a point to smile at them even if you are having a bad day it might even end up making you feel better, and make sure that you are always there for your friends other wise you might regret not standing up for them one day.  

 

I love you all! I hope that I have inspired you to go make someone smile.

P.S. If you are reading this I am sorry that I wasn’t there in our childhood when you needed me, just know that I wish I could do it differently.  I am glad that even after everything we are still there for each other and I love you so much.  I really do 143 <3

Oh goodness I just realized that was a lot of writing! How about a couple of pictures before I leave you all? 

ImageImage

See you guys next Tuesday. Don’t forget to SMILE :D

Leave a Reply

